A Date With Oats

16266038_10158132174760716_4999784624221859541_nThis is my first attempt at putting down a recipe in words. I’ve never done this before so do bear with me till I sharpen my recipe-writing skills 🙂 and I’ve always believed in brevity . In other words, I love the KISS theory. So here goes:

A Date With Oats is a simple breakfast idea that I experimented with one morning. This was when I had just turned vegan. Surprisingly, I didn’t have any withdrwal symptoms from milk or curd but I was craving for a milk shake of sorts.

What you need:

  • 3 tablespoons of roasted oats (I tossed an entire packet of oats and roasted it for a good 10 minutes till it turned light brown). This helps in giving the oats a nutty flavour
  • 1 smalll banana
  • 4 almonds
  • 5-6 dates (the number can vary depending on your preference)
  • 4 walnuts
  • 2 cashews
  • A few raisins
  • 1 teaspoon of chia seeds

I didn’t add milk because of the banana but you can use any plant-based milk.

The process:

Once the oats have cooled down, add it in with the rest of the ingredients and hit in the blender till its smooth and voila, you’re done! FYI – this fills you for a good three hours.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

