Yeast-less whole wheat focaccia bread for the win!

My husband and I decided to whip up some au gratin for our Saturday night dinner (this recipe will be up soon) and we had to have something to go with it, and garlic bread is what came to my mind.

However, I realized that the active yeast that my mother picked up for me was dead – I had kept it in room temperature for over a year without realizing that I had to push the box in the fridge. Months of reading has now made me realize that I need to be a lot more caring with all my baking products.

I was frantically thinking of other ways to make bread using baking powder, which is what I had in abundance. Google came to my rescue and All Recipes had an easy focaccia bread recipe that I could adapt. This recipe is quick, easy and pain-free. I did replace a lot of ingredients in this recipe to make it a little healthier. I took a total of 35-40 minutes (including the baking time) to whip up my all-new favorite whole wheat focaccia bread, vegan style! πŸ™‚

Here’s what you’ll need:

Please note – ensure that you pre-heat the oven to 220 degrees Celsius

For the bread

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tsp sea salt (powdered)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

For the topping

  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 2-3 red chillies – chopped
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast (i swear by Urban Platter)
  • 1 tsp sea salt (powdered)
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • A few stalks of coriander/ cilantro
  • Olives (pitted)

The process:Β 

The bread

  1. Sift together the flour, baking powder and sea salt
  2. Add the sifted flour into a large mixing bowl and add gradually add in the oil while continuing to mix it
  3. Add in the water and mix it till it all comes together
  4. Once a ball is formed, knead it for a couple of minutes with your hands
  5. Transfer this to the oven pan (either greased or you can use the Glad Bake paper) and press the dough to a circular shape with your hand. This need not be even. The dough has to be pressed till it is about 1/2 inch thick

The topping

Add together all ingredients in a wet mixie and your topping is ready to be used. (Leave the olives behind and save it for the last step).

IMG_20170318_182958[1]

Once this is done, you can then put in the mixture on the bread and this is ready to be baked. Don’t forget to top it up with some olives too πŸ™‚

The baking

IMG_20170318_190455_721

Put in the tray into the oven and bake for a good 20-25 minutes. Once it’s done, let it rest for a while before you cut the bread.

The result

IMG_20170318_210052

I absolutely loved the result! I was pleasantly surprised that the bread was quite soft and not too chewy. More importantly, there was no bitter taste because of the wheat!

Do try this out let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

