Vegan Pasta Salad with a homemade dressing

Pasta has always been my all-time favorite and somehow, the pasta salad tops my list, followed by the famous Spaghetti Aglio E Olio.

What’s better than to top this salad with a thousand island salad dressing?  Sadly, none of the supermarkets have the vegan version. I have tried making the dressing at home with yogurt several times in the past but I have never been happy with the result. This time, I put on my vegan charm and my dressing turned out beautifully. With the right amount of zest and tanginess, this is the best pasta salad I’ve ever made 🙂 I know this recipe is going to stick with me forever and it would be unfair to not share it with all of you.

What you need:

For the salad

  • Adequate amount of pasta (I used half a big bowl)
  • 1/2 cup chopped bell pepper (I used green)
  • 1/2 cup boiled sweet corn
  • 1/2 cup chopped tomato
  • 1/2 cup chopped white onion
  • 1/2 cup marinated tofu (I marinated mine in barbecue sauce, overnight)
  • 1/3 cup olives
  • 1/3 cup red peppers
  • 1/3 cup jalapenos

For the dressing

IMG_20170401_185029

  • 5 tbsp vegan mayonnaise
  • 1 large white onion
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1/3 cup cilantro/ coriander leaves
  • 2 tsp chilli tomato sauce
  • 3 tsp white vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tbsp onion powder
  • 1 tbsp Italian seasoning

The process:

IMG_20170401_193046

For the salad

  • Boil the pasta in water that has olive oil and some salt
  • Do not forget to briefly cook your tofu before you add it to the salad
  • Let the pasta & tofu cool and then add them along with the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl and keep aside

For the dressing

IMG_20170403_181041

  • De-seed the tomato and chop it finely
  • Finely chop the onion along with the cilantro
  • Mix together the onion, tomato and cilantro
  • Add in the mayo along with the tomato sauce
  • Add in the vinegar
  • Follow this up with the garlic and onion powders & finally, the Italian seasoning
  • Mix well & you’re done!

You can now add in the dressing to the salad bowl. Mix well, adjust the salt if need be (I didn’t add any more salt since the seasoning, mayo, tomato sauce and the powders would already have some).

IMG_20170401_212320

And you’re all set to #NetflixandChill 🙂

Leave a Reply

